Copycat Oreos and Homemade Ravioli

That seems like an odd title for a blog post, don’t you think? I agree. But it just so happens I took some photos of my process for a copycat recipe for Oreos (original, I only adapted slightly, is here). I’ve done it before but I promised the littlest one she could have some “mini” oreos, and definitely did not mean I would be buying some of the “real” (hahahahaha!) kind. I figured I would do a blog post about them. I haven’t blogged something like this is quite a while, so I wanted to do it with a recipe I knew I already loved. I’ve done this recipe before and they are perfect Oreo substitutes. And since Late July stopped making their AMAZING and DELICIOUS “sandwich cookies”, I have not been able to find a comparable (organic) substitute. Until I made this recipe! So, I posted on my FB and my Instagram about them, and that same night I posted a couple photos I took just on my iPhone of the homemade ravioli I made for dinner. People were equally interested in both recipes, so I decided to combine them! I made the Ravioli dough based off of a recipe I found on Pinterest, but it was one of those pins that takes you to ten different sites first, all linking to random crap that eventually links to what you’re looking for…so luckily I took a photo of all the ingredients! So let’s get to it!

Homemade Copycat Oreos:

COOKIES:

1 C. (2 sticks) unsalted butter softened

1 C. granulated sugar

1 egg

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract (I used lavender extract in mine, it was very subtle, I’d up it if using this instead)

2 C. all purpose flour

3/4 C. Dutch Process cocoa powder (make sure it is Dutch Process, otherwise it is simply not the same)

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

FILLING:

1/2 C. (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

2 TBS. half and half

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract (I used lavender again)

Pinch of salt

3-3 1/2 C. powdered sugar, sifted

 

Oreos-14

I like to try and get everything out and ready before I get started so I am not wandering around, usually with dough, flour, sugar, egg whites, all over my hands and leaving little gunky smudges everywhere. The hubby hates that.

Oreos-13

And this time around my littlest one insisted on being “mommy’s little baker helper”, so we had on our matching aprons and when I’m getting the kids to help (especially when the smaller ones are involved) I pre-measure because if they tried to spoon and level, or if I turned around for a second, we would be eating crunchy egg shell, salted all chocolate and powdered sugar (instead of flour) cookies. Obviously it wouldn’t be all that bad…I would still be in the room. But it makes things much easier, and since it was just me and T today I pre-measured everything.

Oreos-12

She nearly missed trying to get the light and watch her angles all while posing with the butter partially dumped. My little ham :0)

Oreos-10

“Mixa-mixa-mixa!” It’s her favorite part!

Oreos-8

T wasn’t my only helper. This little man was prepping for what he thought we should make next ;0)

Oreos-7

I didn’t have a cookie cutter small enough so we just used a piping tip!

Oreos-6

This was so tedious!

Oreos-5

Cousins helping each other out. Taking a snack break! Princess Penelope was eager to help too! (you can follow her and her adventures on Instagram @Princess_penelope_pickle)

Oreos-9

While the cookies were baking I prepped the frosting.

Oreos-4

And when they were all ready and cooled I piped the filling on to a bajillion little halves and topped with the other halves!

Oreos-3

Oreos-2

Oreos

Because I’m not CRAZY (ok, I am…but still) I only did half mini, and the other half regular!

That one on top is the one I sampled ;0)

Directions:

For the cookies, cream the butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl attached to a stand mixer with the beater attachment, beating on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla beating until incorporated.

While this is running whisk together the dry ingredients. Gradually add this to the creamed mixture, beating on the lowest setting until just incorporated.

Divide dough in half and form two discs. Cover and place in the fridge for an hour.

When chilled preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment or baking mat and set aside.

Roll out the dough and cut to size/shape desired. You want them to be about 1/8-1/4 inch thick. Thinner is better. Mine were quite thick. You want them to be crispier. Makes them feel more authentic!

Bake for about 12 minutes and remove to a cooling rack.

Meanwhile prepare the filling.

Combine butter, half and half, extract and salt beating until combined.

Add the powdered sugar 1/2 a cup at a time until it is smooth and all lumps are gone. It should be slightly stiffer than cake frosting.

Transfer to a piping bag and frost half the cookies, and top with the other half! Viola!

 

Now for the ravioli: (remember this was just random that I took these photos with my iPhone because I kind of take pictures of everything!)

 

Homemade Ravioli:

1 1/2 C. all purpose flour

2 eggs

1-2 TBS. water

1/2 tsp salt

Ravioli

Ravioli-2

Ravioli-4

Ravioli-5

Directions:

Combine all ingredients. I just used a pastry cutter because I didn’t want to clean out the stand mixer bowl again. I think a fork would work too.

Once the dough forms a ball, you don’t want it to stick to your hands but you don’t want it over mixed either, cover it and let it rest for 30 minutes. Then take it 1/4 at a time and knead it on a lightly floured surface slightly and roll it out to as thin as you can get it, or pass it through a pasta machine. If you have the kitchen aid one I went with a % setting and that was perfect.

Cut out the shapes you would like, and add the filling.  Then seal them using an egg wash. I just did about 2 TBS egg whites and 1 TBS water because I had egg whites left from when I made homemade ice cream the other day.

For the filling I took a few mushrooms and chopped them finely, added the whole tub of ricotta (they’re a pretty average size, right?) and about a cup of grated mozzarella.

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil and drop ravioli in once it is at a good boil.

Cook for about 3-4 minutes, pushing them around to make sure they aren’t sticking.

With a slotted spoon remove the ravioli from the water and place in a bowl to drain.

I made a simple sauce with tomato sauce, chopped onions, crushed garlic and some basil. I heated that on the stove and tossed the ravioli in it when it was hot!

Serve and enjoy!

I froze about half and reheated it a few days later when we had all the girls here. I just stuck the glass dish I froze it in in the oven (cold oven) and heated it at 350 for about an hour. I checked on it about half-way through and covered it with foil for the remainder, mixing it up slightly before putting it back it.

The kids loved it!

I hope that you’ll try these two recipes out at your house, and let me know how it goes!

Enjoy!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Copycat Oreos and Homemade Ravioli

  1. Pingback: Copycat Oreos and Homemade Ravioli | aprilshowersandmayflowers

  2. i made ravioli for the first time in my life! it was definitely a wonderful experience for my kids and i. i felt glad that i had a few prior experiences with the dough process, because the knowledge i had from doing it before helped a lot. plus, rolling it to very thin density was my biggest challenge. but overall, i shall repeat lol

Leave a Reply

