Carrot Seed Essential Oil | Avocado Oil | Sunscreen

Carrot seed sunscreen

The summer is fast approaching, and here in sunny SoCal it can get quite hot, and the sun can burn down. Literally. BURN! I have very fair skin, so even though I do tan, I tend to burn first. And burns aren’t fun. But, neither are the toxic chemicals in most conventional sunscreens. I’ve been using a good one, had a good rating as far as “all-natural” is concerned…but it had zinc-oxide in it. Now, don’t get me wrong…I haven’t done all the research, and it does seem that zinc-oxide is a very wonderful sun-protection agent…but it’s got a couple red-flags. I have done a little researching on it…but only enough to make me curious for other options. I’m not trying to tell anyone to get rid of their all-natural sunscreen because of this ingredient. No. Just saying, I was looking for a different option. And I found one!

Let’s meet our ingredients:

Carrot seed sunscreen-7

Avocado Oil:

Carrot seed sunscreen-4

This oil has an SPF of about 4-15, all by it’s lonesome. So that it why I chose this particular oil for my recipe.

Coconut Oil:

Carrot seed sunscreen-5

Also boasts an SPF of about 2-8, and with it’s thicker consistency and great skin benefits, it was a shoe in for the part.

Vitamin E Oil:

Carrot seed sunscreen-3

Great for skin. ‘Nuf said. (note: if you have read this tutorial you might notice this is a different Vitamin E oil to the one I used over there. Whole Foods was out of the other one, and I’m glad for it…you’ll see why later!)

Aloe Vera

Carrot seed sunscreen-6

Skin soothing, all around wonderful for the skin, and if it’s great after a burn, why not before? Hey…I’m just making this stuff up as I go along. If you’re looking for all the knowledgey stuff…you ain’t getting it here! (See how I did that…I said “knowledgey” and “ain’t” to prove my point) ;0)

Carrot Seed Essential Oil:

Carrot seed sunscreen-2

This little powerhouse packs a whopping 38-40 SPF! Obvious choice!

Now I don’t know how the SPF stuff works…does it then get added all together? No clue. But since I all too often go out in the sun with nothing, I’m going to assume no matter how the SPFs get split up in this bad-boy I’ll be good to go. If you’re worried, Google is a magical thing. I’m sure it can be figured out.

So here is the recipe I used. (You’ll notice its a very small amount…I read another recipe that said 20 drops carrot seed to 1/4 cup coconut oil…and I didn’t want to skimp on the carrot seed in my usual “big batch” of lotion…but I didn’t want to use the whole thing up in one go either!)

 

2 Tbs Avocado oil

1 Tbs Coconut oil

1 tsp Vitamin E oil

1 Tbs Aloe Vera

1 Tbs Water

20 drops Carrot Seed essential oil

The process is similar to other lotion processes, only much less complicated. You want to get the oils melted first, I just popped them in the microwave for a few second intervals until the coconut oil was melted. Not long. Then I put them in the food processor…but I highly suggest just using a blender…small amounts here…I’m just so used to doing it that way, I wasn’t thinking. So blend it to incorporate, then add the aloe and water. Then add the carrot seed EO. Transfer to your choice of container!

That’s it! It won’t set up like other lotion recipes, but I wanted to be able to put it in this:

Carrot seed sunscreen-8

See? I told you I was glad Whole Foods was out of the Vitamin E oil I usually get! This stuff came in a glass roller top bottle that was just the right size!

Carrot seed sunscreen-1

It made just enough for two of them, and there was a little left. I knew it was pretty fluid so I tried it out in a spray bottle (helpful when you have squirmy kids) and it worked great! So stoked about it all.

The reason I decided to do the lotion this way, leave out any real emulsifiers, is because this is coming with me out in the heat…it would likely melt anyway. I could get creative and try different things, but this was simple and its got at least a 38 SPF. Perfect.

So slather it on and go to the beach! Woo-hoo! Keep in mind it’s probably going to need reapplying just like any sunscreen might, but feel free to let me know how it’s worked for you! So far the sun has been coming and going, but I’ll be trying this out soon!

Sunscreen FLYER

To order your Young Living essential oils stop by here.

 

3 thoughts on “Carrot Seed Essential Oil | Avocado Oil | Sunscreen

  1. Pingback: Slique | Young Living | Put the Lime in the Coconut

  2. I’m actually thrilled with this cream! But need to know is there any challange to cleaning the essential oil out/off of your food processor? I use mine for baking alot and so I’m hesitant to use it for this cream. Please advise thanks

Leave a Reply

