Put the Lime in the Coconut

Let’s kick this thing off with a tutorial for the inspiration behind the name! Lime and coconut sugar scrub!

Image

This is a super easy thing to make. And if you’re here because you read my post over here, then you’ll see what I mean in a second!

Ingredients:

Lime Coconut Sugar Scrub-no mark-5

Organic Sugar

Organic Unrefined Coconut Oil

Lime Young Living Essential Oil

That’s it. Yup. Like I said, super easy!

So Let’s meet our ingredients! All three of them.

Organic Sugar:

Lime Coconut Sugar Scrub-no mark-1

If you didn’t read this post, then you don’t already know, so I’ll mention it again: I love Whole Foods. I buy everything there. From apples and flour to shoes and make up. It’s my go-to for absolutely everything I need that I want organic and all natural. So, you might have guessed it, I got this big ol’ bag of sugar at Whole Foods.

Why organic, do you say? If you have to ask, you’re in the wrong place. I always choose organic, and I do my best to choose the best organic option available. When they were out of my usual honey (yes, at Whole Foods) I had to sit in the freaking baking aisle (where they keep the honey) for half an hour reading each label in full detail. Wild? Humanely raised? Organic? Raw? AHHHHHHH! When I’m not at the farmer’s market, teaching a craft class for my 98-year-old grandmother’s senior living home, making everything from scratch, or dancing, shuttling, cuddling, cleaning, chiding, and loving my three kids, my husband and sometimes my nephew, then I am spending my leasure time reading…in the Whole Foods aisles.

If you don’t have a Whole Foods I feel bad for you, but you can find organic sugar at any health food store. Even Target has some.

What is the sugar good for? Exfoliation. This is a sugar scrub. It scrubs off your dead and dying skin…I assume. What else is it good for? I don’t know…makes it smell sweet? It’s better than rubbing sand on your body? I’m not clever enough to know if it has a higher purpose in this recipe, so lets stick with exfoliation.

Organic Unrefined Coconut Oil

I’m really beginning to sound redundant here but for those wanting to know where I get my coconut oil (because there will be those that ask) WHOLE FOODS! Shocked, I know.

Oh geez…now I have to explain why unrefined…refined stuff is gross. I’ve read this, I’ve read that, I make my decision and immediately forget the rest. Saves space in my brain. It has enough to remember without why unrefined. If you’re looking for all these technical answers, you’re not going to find them here.

Last but not least!

Lime Essential Oil

Lime Coconut Sugar Scrub-no mark-4

Why lime? Because it smells like a margarita. Oh sure, there are other benefits (like: it is antirheumatic, antiviral, and antibacterial. And it’s uses are: skin conditions (acne, herpes), insect bites, respiratory problems, decongests the lymphatic system ) but lets face it, I used it because I rub this all over me and it’s like I’m under a waterfall in the tropics sipping on a delicious margarita. Ok, maybe not that dramatic, but it does smell awesome.

I keep mine in a little mason jar in the shower and scrub on up before I wash my body. It leaves my skin super soft and smooth. I even rubbed some on my face this morning, and it felt silky smooth after!

See? Much easier than the other tutorial I did!

Disclaimer: Yes I guess I “sell” the stuff, so you may be reluctant to trust me when I say you definitely want to use Young Living Essential Oils but I love the oils, and all the products I’ve tried. And I have never had results (smoother skin, etc.) with any other essential oils. And let’s face it, I’m not going to say no to money just for having people put my info in when they buy it for themselves. I do have a serious Whole Foods habit to support after all.

So grab your EOs and put the lime in the coconut, it makes your skin better ;0)

To order Young Living essential oils go here.

Leave a Reply

